Skip to content
August 10, 2010 / Gio

I Just Want My Dreams Back

Inspired by Libby Murphy

~

Once upon a time

the world was my oyster,

I laughed at the devil,

wrapped my arms around

terror and joy.

I still dream

those remembered dreams,

I grow sadder, glowing sadder

with every muted memory,

every knotted regret

of time misspent.

I remember Johnny

an inspired prince, future king

embracing the world

with a world of embraces;

bending skies and milking clouds,

eager boy, wide-eyed and glorious,

young man, fierce, relentless dreamcatcher,

learning, shaping, diving, growing…

sponge monster, mold-maker, sprout shaper

my explosive universe.

I don’t want to die, voiceless

in a dark irrelevant corner

blanketed by loneliness

denouncing Love, divorcing God

held captive forever by myself,

cursing myself.

I just want my dreams back.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Giovanni / Oct 15 2010 1:04 am

    Thanks for the visit, I’ll stop by to see you soon.

  2. xoandre / Oct 14 2010 11:57 pm

    Such strength of emotion and depth of hopeful loneliness… This moves me and yet I rejoice in how it contradicts my mental state at the moment.

  3. Rebecca / Oct 13 2010 10:41 pm

    This was gorgeous in its rawness. The lines that most struck me were, “I don’t want to die voiceless in a dark irrelevant corner blanketed by loneliness, denouncing Love, divorcing God, held captive forever by myself, cursing myself. I just want my dreams back.” Gorgeous.

  4. Gio / Aug 11 2010 11:29 am

    Thank you!
    I’m enjoying your work as well.

  5. T Gyatso / Aug 11 2010 11:19 am

    I very much enjoyed the honesty of the piece.

    A wonderful piece of writing!

Leave a Reply

