Skip to content
September 29, 2010 / Gio

When Will I Begin?

when will I begin?

to take the world seriously
to see the day
with all its wondrous sunlight
depths of darkness
that of night
to dance some secret tango
while dreaming of a spring moment
when will I begin?

to listen to stories
of old men
and ancient conquests
to shun evil maidens
who bite the clock of my heart
and compose
music of romance
when will I begin?

to satisfy the appetite
for flower gardens
and palm trees
and clusters of ripe fruit
to act upon my center of being
the reasonable man
when will I begin?

to swing…
swing a song in odd time then
blow a solo and rap and rhyme
to chase a mysterious morning fog
down narrow desolate avenues
when will I begin?

to taste acacia honey
on the softest lips
to see water and hear waves
feel a breeze and smell grass
see children and feel laughter
to cry alone, yet for the world
to close my eyes and know
that everything still flows
in, around, from and through me
reaching out and back
your breath, my breath
connected
when will I begin?

 

for
Magpie Tales #36

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Leo (Leonnyes) / Oct 19 2010 3:01 pm

    a questioning magpie.. well executed.. I think you’ve begun too, Giovanni..

    nice magpie.. mine is here.

  2. Giovanni / Oct 17 2010 9:26 pm

    Thanks! Your “time suck” section devoured me for 2 hours.

  3. Rene Foran / Oct 17 2010 6:21 pm

    this is so beautiful
    and I can really relate to every single word…

    and I am still waiting to be discovered by the talent agent living on the other side of my bathroom mirror 🙂

  4. cheryl / Oct 17 2010 4:28 pm

    You have pondered well Giovanni. 🙂

  5. Tumblewords / Oct 16 2010 9:11 pm

    A wonderfully willing question…beautifully written.

  6. MD / Oct 16 2010 2:02 pm

    A reality check…
    Very interesting when-will-I-begins…:)
    Some really wonderful lines in there…

    Loved it!

  7. brian / Oct 16 2010 10:29 am

    mmm…good stuff…when will i begin to see there is so much more as you describe so aptly…very nice magpie!

  8. gautami tripathy / Oct 16 2010 1:59 am

    What a thought provoking poem…

    fortune tellers

  9. gautami tripathy / Oct 16 2010 1:47 am

    It only begins when we truly want it to…

    fortune tellers

  10. Kristen Haskell / Oct 15 2010 6:10 pm

    Now! When you ask the questions that is when you begin. Absolutely wonderful writing.

  11. Jingle / Oct 15 2010 3:08 pm

    I am asking the same questions.
    love the image,
    you poem evokes infinite thoughts …
    well done!

  12. willow / Oct 15 2010 9:11 am

    The repeating of the question at the end of each stanza is very effective. Lovely piece, G. Nice to see you back at Magpie.

  13. Berowne / Oct 15 2010 6:41 am

    My post is about another guy named Giovanni..;.

  14. Deborah / Oct 15 2010 5:30 am

    I think you’ve already begun … wonderful! :o)

Leave a Reply

