Skip to content
October 4, 2010 / Gio

The Fire Within

dawn can be heartbreaking
or it can be
the most exquisite sunburst
the days love birth

the moon could be an angry globe, earth’s reflection
hovering in a mirrored sky
or I might call her my guardian angel
carrying an incandescent night-light
just for me

the sun might feel like salted fire
on an open wound
or you may swallow its luminous rays
with enlightenment
sharing your heart-filled wisdom

one man awakes and decides
to spend the day in a black sea
a dead pool
clinging to life’s morbid images
while at that very moment
his neighbor jumps out of bed
becomes the change
and chases the day
inhaling the air of life
digging in, into the world
one element at a time
or all at once

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Giovanni / Oct 13 2010 3:13 pm

    Thanks Jon Paul, I’ll visit your blog soon.

  2. tasithoughts / Oct 13 2010 10:18 am

    Imagery and emotion captured perfectly. Well done!

  3. enreal / Oct 6 2010 10:29 pm

    This being the first thing I read and the first image I saw when I entered your pages… great read. your words hold rhythm. i read them aloud. it felt like a journey. very nice

  4. short poems / Oct 6 2010 2:38 am

    I just loved it, GREAT WRITE 🙂
    Warmly
    Marinela

  5. Giovanni Cucullo / Oct 5 2010 8:39 pm

    Thank you Angela, I’ll be sure to give you a visit.

  6. Jingle / Oct 5 2010 8:37 pm

    support us by visiting a few poets near your entry.
    thanks for the contribution…

    here is one of mine:
    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/what-can-you-see/

  7. Angela / Oct 5 2010 8:28 pm

    Excellent work–it’s beautifully written.

  8. Sharp Little Pencil / Oct 5 2010 4:05 pm

    Giovanni,

    “Like salted fire on an open wound.” Clearly my favorite line. You write powerfully and the contrasts are wonderful. Personally, as a person living with manic depression, the final thoughts resonate. When I am in the black cloud place, I envy my neighbor who skips out the door. Yet, a couple of days later, I’m the one skipping and drinking in all nature provides!

    Needless to say, I loved this and “took it personally” in a good way! So glad I hooked up with Jingle, who is so great at getting us all on each other’s blogs. Peace, Amy Barlow Liberatore

  9. Giovanni Cucullo / Oct 5 2010 12:55 pm

    Thanks my friend, that is truly heart-felt. Yes, jump…”be the change you want to see in the world”.

  10. 700miles / Oct 5 2010 9:24 am

    i’m always blown away by what you write. i secretly envy your ability to give words incredible depth. today i think i’ll be that guy who has jumped out of bed…. 🙂 glad you are enjoying the jingle community as well. take care friend…

  11. joseruypc / Oct 4 2010 11:27 pm

    1) Nice combination of images. 2) I really like the way you finish this poem.
    Thank you for sharing and thank you for visiting me as well.

    Hugs,

    José Ruy
    joseruypc.wordpress.com

  12. buttercup600 / Oct 4 2010 10:54 pm

    Your artistry is unending, I have had a look at all your blogs and am sooo happy I found you. Thanks for the compliment to add me to your blogroll, I have done the same 🙂 Amazing poem…poetic stirring words. Hugs x

  13. Jingle / Oct 4 2010 9:20 pm

    Thanks for linking up with poetry potluck,
    have fun visiting a few poets near your entry…

    BEST!

  14. Jingle / Oct 4 2010 9:20 pm

    impressive flow…
    love the story ….

  15. mairmusic / Oct 4 2010 9:19 pm

    Your contrasts are powerful and thought-provoking– a great write!

Leave a Reply

