Skip to content
October 13, 2010 / Gio

Skippy

Driving east from Uluru
A belly full of Mulligan’s Stew
Wafting pongy of a few dead roos
Gotta learn to play that Didgeridoo

Broken Hill is a lonely place
An empty corner of the world
I put the billy cup to my face
Daydreaming, Ocean Road‘s rips and curls

Easing into the petrol station
A shack with stale grog and Bush Tucker
I’m a cowboy in a foreign nation
Call me swagman, call me trucker

Proprietor tells me which way to go
House specialties: fresh coffee and mulberry pie
Wrinkled woman, moving slow hunching low
Feeding wildflowers to a goat named Clive

The Outback is where writer’s dream
As the open road spins a yarn
Moo-Poo $3 bag, a sign I had seen
Freshly painted on the side of a barn

That’ll be twelve dollars ninety thank you!
Said the barkeeper as he handed me pie
I packed the cooler with West Coast
And set out for another long ride

Driving through Cobar and Armidale
Warrumbungle and Tamworth too
Skippy. Skippy. Skippy the bush kangaroo
Skippy. Skippy. Skippy a friend ever true.

      
A few pics I took during my visit to Warrumbungle National Park.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Reflections / Dec 1 2010 1:49 am

    Well done, love your use of imagery. Skippy seems like a nice fellow, fun-loving and all.

  2. Fyodor Lewis / Nov 30 2010 5:44 pm

    Sadly, the one and only time I’ve been to Australia I was unable to get to the outback. Now the desire has been rekindled to go back.
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. tasithoughts / Nov 30 2010 5:29 pm

    There is something about your light hearted work that transports the reader to the place and visually makes it real. Well done.

    JP

    http://tasithoughts.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/evergreen/

  4. tasithoughts / Nov 30 2010 5:29 pm

    There is something about your light hearted work that transports the reader to the place and visually makes it real. Well done.

    JP

  5. RiikaInfinityy 마왕 / Nov 30 2010 7:35 am

    love the wildlife and scenery, fun words and wonderfully written!=D

  6. Myrna / Nov 29 2010 8:07 pm

    The outback cowboy you are.

    Cute poem and nice pictures. I really enjoyed this.

  7. danroberson / Nov 29 2010 4:01 pm

    You painted a picture and a destination of dreams. Poets everywhere will be curious. I enjoyed your poem. Thank yoou for sharing.

  8. Scent of my heart / Nov 29 2010 2:21 pm

    Ah, you got me right where my heart is really weak… Australia …Just the first line “Driving east from Uluru” and I knew I would love it! Thanks so much for sharing! I absolutely enjoyed reading it and I mean it!

  9. lynnaima / Nov 29 2010 11:29 am

    Now I wish to visit Australia 🙂 GREAT IMAGERY!
    Happy Potluck!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/the-farming-of-nature/

  10. Jingle / Nov 29 2010 8:22 am

    your image reminds me of view when i was traveling near new Mexico, playful words.
    breath taking imagery…
    Thanks for linking up with potluck poetry.
    xxx

  11. Shashi / Nov 29 2010 7:22 am

    Very interesting verse and your style is beautiful.. I enjoyed the story telling way your verse moved… thanks

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  12. fiveloaf / Nov 29 2010 7:12 am

    lovely..

  13. Neha / Nov 29 2010 4:32 am

    Very nicely crafted – skipped with skippy through Aussie lan!

  14. buttercup600 / Oct 14 2010 10:57 pm

    Awesome…laughed so much about the Moo-Poo $3 bag….LOL!! Quite strange when you come here for the first time…the very first saying I heard and never will forget was “May your chooks turn into emus and kick your dunny down”…I am an Aussie now (after 10 years) but will never get used to the language 🙂 Well crafted pieces and stunning image my friend. I have Skippy’s wondering around the lawn xx

Leave a Reply

