Skip to content
November 7, 2010 / Gio

The Spotted Cat

A recent trip to New Orleans was the inspiration for this…

~

‘Round midnight
in crystal silence
and dressed like a blue monk
Miles calls a tune
from the top, from the head
with lilted raspy creole
and indigo mood.
His inherited skin
from grandaddy slave
and fortress eyes
hang a tale through Jass.
Spotted, at the Five Spot
Cats unleash a quiet storm
notes climb and crawl up the side
of buildings but beautifully
winded, winding
reed-shooting ejaculations
as the horn sings
one of my favorite things
flying higher than the moon and
syncopated with a rat-a-tat.
Cooking with gasoline
and scrambled, like eggs.
Scaling a wall
of motifs and runs
and two-five-one’s.
Walking upright between raindrops.
and playing between the keys
as arpeggios slope down
a musical monument
to the stage, into
a 6-string hollow body.
Electric smoke-filled evening
of Bop and Blues
and cat-rhythm prancing,
dancing improv.

~

I have edited the poem for Jingle to include the words, fortress, buildings and monument.

~

You Might Also Like
aka Dig!

30 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. theonlycin / Dec 11 2010 11:22 pm

    Miles is here with me and my coffee, pensive morning. Your poem was the perfect find. Thank you.

  2. 700miles / Nov 16 2010 8:44 am

    congrats on your spotlight Gio. i was reading the poem on jingle’s page and got about half way down to ‘cooking with gasoline’, and i thought, this is one of Gio’s! i hadn’t seen the author text. great work my friend and congrats again. take care…

  3. Giovanni / Nov 13 2010 11:52 am

    Wow! I would be honored!!
    Thank you so very much.

  4. Sumit Sarkar / Nov 13 2010 7:56 am

    Superb poem 🙂

  5. Talon / Nov 12 2010 11:34 am

    Giovanni, I’m going to spotlight this poem as Poem of the Week at Jingle Poetry if that is okay with you.

    It just sings!

  6. Sherry Blue Sky / Nov 11 2010 5:28 pm

    Whew! This is possibly the best poem about music – that flows LIKE music – I have ever read. Amazing writing, makes me wish I was there listening. But in a way, through your words, I was.

  7. Luke Prater / Nov 10 2010 2:25 pm

    All that jazz, yo… nice write, brother

    Luke @ WordSalad

  8. The Reason You Come / Nov 10 2010 10:21 am

    I have one word: Wow! This is an impressive piece of work! 🙂

    http://thebeatofmydrum.com/2010/11/10/the-room/

  9. Jamie Dedes / Nov 9 2010 9:14 pm

    This is fun and very well done. Good job. I enjoyed it a lot, Giovanni and thank you for it. Kudos! Such a happy thing … all those great jazz musicians.

  10. Rene Foran / Nov 9 2010 7:49 pm

    you got chops, bro 🙂

  11. Giovanni / Nov 9 2010 5:15 pm

    Thanks Amanda!
    Yes… The Jazz and The Food combined with the resilience of the people makes New Orleans a city to admire.

  12. Giovanni / Nov 9 2010 5:04 pm

    Thanks Amy!
    I knew you would dig this piece.
    Music was my first Love and I studied Jazz at SUNY Purchase. Jazz has always been a vital part of my life, but the restaurant business has always consumed me & my time; my piano and my “chops” have felt the neglect.
    Here’s another Jazz poem I wrote:
    https://giovannicucullo.wordpress.com/2010/08/01/aka-dig/
    Warm Regards,
    Gio

  13. Sharp Little Pencil / Nov 9 2010 3:31 pm

    Borriquen, mi alma!
    Giovanni, you managed to put in so many references that musicians know and love, from “jass” to Monk to “Round Midnight”… this is a love letter to the music I love best. Its heart and soul birthed in N’O’leans; its feeling, transcending the ages. Thank you, thank you! Amy Barlow Liberatore
    www,amybarlowliberatore.com is my jazz site!

  14. Giovanni / Nov 9 2010 1:49 pm

    Thanks Myrna,

    I grew up in the Bronx and spent a lot of time around Puerto Ricans. The Boricua tags refer to a former realtionship with a PR beauty.

  15. myrna / Nov 9 2010 1:17 pm

    Your poem is so musical and fun. I like the way you weave the words to make me listen to your tunes.

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I read all your poems tagged Boricua and loved their sensuality and depiction of a sexy, warm, loving island. I’ll be subscribing to your blog and look forward to reading more. So nice to meet you.

  16. Amanda / Nov 9 2010 12:54 pm

    Giovanni you burrowed into the heart of a night in New Orleans. Jazz and those that play it live it make it they are the essence of N.O. and you brought them to life right here in my head! Awesome! I have an aunt that lived in Metarie a parish of New Orleans until Katrina lived there most of her life, I am going to send her a link to this she would love it!

  17. G. K. Asante / Nov 9 2010 11:53 am

    Great cadence and cascading imagery.

  18. Shashi / Nov 9 2010 4:42 am

    Dear Giovanni

    Its lovely remembrance of your trip and I enjoyed your words like “notes climb and crawl up the side
    of buildings” very much.. thanks for sharing…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  19. A.B. Thomas / Nov 8 2010 8:51 pm

    It flows like a jazzy tune in a smoke filled dive as I sip on the house whiskey and watch the local talant sway off to the side – fantastic read, thanks!

  20. ogungbesan20 / Nov 8 2010 2:40 pm

    SOOTHING AND REVEALING ALSO. I CAN NOT DENY I LOVE THIS

  21. Mary Bach / Nov 8 2010 11:44 am

    Excellent! Bravo!

  22. Talon / Nov 8 2010 9:59 am

    Beautifully written. I could hear the music…

  23. fiveloaf / Nov 8 2010 9:42 am

    super!

  24. RiikaInfinityy 마왕 / Nov 8 2010 9:39 am

    I hope my expression wasn’t wrong but I am having fun while reading this =P I am dancing along with the music, cheers!=D

  25. Brian / Nov 8 2010 7:16 am

    Like this, the movement and drive.

  26. Felicity / Nov 8 2010 3:38 am

    I love how you’ve captured the moment so beautifully here.

  27. trisha / Nov 8 2010 2:11 am

    fabulously crafted. loved reading it.

  28. Reflections / Nov 7 2010 10:45 pm

    Beautiful musical images, monuments in time.

  29. Jingle / Nov 7 2010 10:36 pm

    wow, that’s a super thoughtful entry,
    you are super kind,
    Thanks for writing this for Jingle and share with Jingle poetry potluck.
    Happy Monday.

    xxx

Trackbacks

  1. aka Dig! « Giovanni Cucullo

Leave a Reply

