Skip to content
December 7, 2010 / Gio

waiting for it to end

True love never did run smooth…

she made breakfast and

my bed

fluffing the pillows

she read my palm and

told me what to avoid

she always left something

marking her territory

with sexual souvenirs

she danced naked

I watched CNN

she loved me too much

or for the wrong reasons

she hated me

on the wrong days of the month

she made me bleed

she always slept late

she taught me how to love

we waited for it to end.

~

For Carry on Tuesday
http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/

 

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. heather grace stewart / Dec 14 2010 10:23 pm

    You’re the chef, and you let her make YOU breakfast? That was your mistake!
    Kidding. A beautiful poem, so on the money.

  2. DULCE / Dec 11 2010 11:54 am

    OH oH Oh
    This is the poetry I love…
    so glad to find you from Poets United- Shame I cannot follow you—

    Dulce

  3. Rene Foran / Dec 11 2010 11:50 am

    so heart wrenchingly right on the money…

  4. Ellen / Dec 10 2010 10:21 pm

    Wow, powerful and so true of squeezing one’s soul to tight~

  5. hedgewitch / Dec 10 2010 5:12 pm

    Love in all its puzzling incomprehensible manifestations…there’s a great immediacy to this one, feel a bit voyeuristic, like I’m looking in a window. So I’m looking at the pasta now instead…mmmm. ;_)

  6. Monica Manning / Dec 9 2010 8:30 am

    ‘She danced naked, I watched CNN’. It’s sad that he recognizes they are miles apart, but can’t seem to stop it from unravelling. Beautiful piece.

  7. annell Livingston / Dec 8 2010 9:35 am

    This one is wrapped in feeling. Thanks.

  8. Giovanni Cucullo / Dec 8 2010 12:18 am

    Many people have missed you…great to have you back!
    Lots of Love…

  9. buttercup600 / Dec 7 2010 11:46 pm

    Could not agree more…this line does it to perfection!! I’ve missed your wonderful talent my friend!!! Big hugs from Oz oxoxox

  10. gs batty / Dec 7 2010 11:30 pm

    yes very nice. a lot said in a few words. excellent

  11. Talon / Dec 7 2010 10:56 pm

    I love what you wrote from the prompt, Giovanni.

    “she loved me too much…” – that one line wraps the entire poem brilliantly.

Leave a Reply

