Skip to content
December 14, 2010 / Gio

A Love Supreme

Love ferments
in metered verse,
a crying candle,
an untouched aria;
hearts pirouetting like
a tempestuous sonnet
macerating in bubbling vats, hot
with carbon dioxide.

I have flown in sky poems,
shackled by a silk scarf –
cloud puffs…frothy delights, whisked
into cappuccino romance – where suddenly
uttering…singing the blues, disrupted
like a feeding lion,
cupid’s dance of delirium, cascaded
down like snow.

I have seen the ocean split
by smirking leviathans, resting
my finger on the moon’s dimple,
and the caress of waves, embracing currents;
I know sunrise…we’ve met, and dusk,
sinking to the ocean floor
like an anchor, leaning bittersweet,
and sometimes I have done
what other men wish they had.

I have heard my words tap dance
in the mouths of others and
I have dreamed and dabbled, phosphorescent love,
the heated canopy of eternal fire,
then kisses, scorched, and resting
on gestures, rising,
through rose-colored fog, remembered
like coffee foam.

I who trembled at the sight, shrunken
like a yellow cowboy, barely
she came to me scented
with sunlight, powdered with ghostly night potions
and star-crossed elixirs; I knew her
before we danced with laughing trees

I have walked many dark miles
to taste the final kiss of a spinning pixie.
I have searched, weeks at a time,
my heart frozen on a tattered sleeve;
always expecting a heated embrace, tremor of fate.

I have come to know
feline figurines, mirror-dancing
erotic, thunder-clap raindances.
I have been granted, gifted
with love supreme
and the foils of circumstance,
but always, armored and naked
self-assured by experience
and an optimistic heart.

© Giovanni Cucullo

~

 Visit One Stop Poetry!

~

3WW CCXIX

31 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Giovanni Cucullo / Jan 9 2011 9:04 pm

    Grazie Dottoressa!
    It’s been a while…but I do stop by to sneak a read of your work every so often.

  2. siubhan / Jan 9 2011 12:43 pm

    so many beautiful images here…. i think i like the first verse best, but really your language is exquisite throughout. it’s a love poem without all the sickly sweet feeling of a love poem, but all its power and beauty.

  3. Judy Black / Dec 20 2010 11:58 pm

    Oh wow. What a breathtaking poem. I love the idea of love fermenting, that is a really beautiful and haunting image. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Giovanni Cucullo / Dec 19 2010 2:48 pm

    Thanks Thom! I need to make it over to 3WW more often.

  5. ThomG / Dec 19 2010 11:12 am

    Truly a beautiful piece. I thank you for sharing with the 3WW community.

  6. zouxzoux / Dec 18 2010 10:30 am

    This was truly a pleasure to read. Such ebullient phrasing!

  7. Giovanni Cucullo / Dec 16 2010 6:39 pm

    Jenne,
    I finally read Whitman’s poem…Wow! I will spend some time with it and dig in. A grand piece.
    Thanks for visiting, hope to see you again soon.
    Gio

  8. Belinda / Dec 16 2010 4:45 pm

    So many gorgeous lines here! I especially love the food, cream and coffee references — made me a little hungry.

    And I just love the title — we borrowed my son’s middle name from Coltrane.

    And I also love some of the icons gracing your sidebar esp. Carlin…so glad to have met you in this bloggy world! Now I’m off to click on your recipes….

  9. Luke Prater / Dec 16 2010 3:55 pm

    Dude that’s super-romantic! Nice read… warmed me up (boy it’s cold here…)

    Cheers

    Luke @ WordSalad

  10. Sharp Little Pencil / Dec 16 2010 2:20 pm

    You’re such a jazz baby, Gio. Best line was ‘love supreme,’ Trane was right.

    Beeeeautiful poem. So glad I stopped by TWW! Amy

  11. dustus / Dec 16 2010 1:30 pm

    “macerating in bubbling vats” What a line! This poem reminds me of jazz, Coltrane in this case.
    Excellent writing! Also, props for putting a pic of Lenny Bruce on your sidebar. Cheers, Gio

  12. Vicki Munn / Dec 16 2010 10:13 am

    that was beautiful, yes, and romantic.

  13. gautami tripathy / Dec 16 2010 7:59 am

    I read it aloud and loved the sound..!!

    dead man and his shoe painting

  14. shail / Dec 16 2010 1:11 am

    Beautiful, beautiful!

  15. Giovanni Cucullo / Dec 15 2010 11:42 pm

    Thanks for the kind words Neva…glad you made it over here!

  16. david waters / Dec 15 2010 10:17 pm

    I loved every line, the last few are truly brilliant!

  17. Neva Flores / Dec 15 2010 9:57 pm

    I love the line about the moon’s dimple, I sigh…………exquisite!

  18. Giovanni Cucullo / Dec 15 2010 3:30 pm

    Jenne,
    I will search for that poem immediately.
    Thanks for stopping by!

  19. jenneandrews / Dec 15 2010 3:00 pm

    Bravo, Giovanni! Do you know Walt Whitman’s Out of the Cradle Endlessly Rocking? This poem of witness to love reminds me of Whitman. Baci– Jenne’

  20. Eric / Dec 15 2010 12:49 pm

    The phrase “shrunken like a yellow cowboy” was inspired!
    (“What are ya, yeller?”)

    Another nice One Shot, Giovanni!

  21. lynne hayes / Dec 15 2010 6:54 am

    What a wonderful treat fro my eyes and heart this early morning..the entire piece just flows with love, hope and visions..
    truly a beautiful poem..

  22. Gabriela Abalo / Dec 15 2010 5:17 am

    I was enchanted by the way the words were flowing… like a smooth breeze, feeling my heart with warm feelings.

    Brilliant work!

  23. Anita Wakeham / Dec 15 2010 4:43 am

    Such wonderful imagery your words evoke. Beautiful poem.

    Anita.

  24. hedgewitch / Dec 15 2010 12:17 am

    That was quite the feast of the senses, Gio. What started out as a spirited personal reminiscence turned into an epic of larger-than-life archetypes and Love with a capital L. A beautiful aria sung to the four winds, shackled by a scarf amidst smirking leviathons. What lover could ever ask for more, abut wait– on top of that–feline figurines. I don’t know why, but that line really grabbed me–like seeing sinuous cat-women super models laughing secret laughter in the shadows…Love it. With a capital L.

  25. heather grace stewart / Dec 14 2010 10:19 pm

    “I have heard my words tap dance in the mouths of others”
    Awesome. The alliteration, rhythm, flow–loved it all.

  26. Patty Sherry / Dec 14 2010 10:07 pm

    I simply love a romantic love poem. Lovely images you brought to my mind. I adore your final lines of the poem ‘ armored and naked, self assured by experience and an optimistic heart”

    strong and vulnerable with a romantic heart. Lovely.

  27. Talon / Dec 14 2010 11:20 am

    That “optimistic heart” is the clincher here, Giovanni. Because without it love would never be ventured or gained, I think.

    This was incredibly beautiful.

  28. Giovanni Cucullo / Dec 14 2010 10:53 am

    Thanks for the “luscious” comments!
    Aria refers to the solo musical form as in Opera.

  29. Giovanni Cucullo / Dec 14 2010 10:51 am

    Thanks booguloo…always good to see you!

  30. madhumakhi / Dec 14 2010 8:46 am

    Beautiful poem. I really liked the way you’ve chosen the words. Your poem is luscious on the lips and it has a beautiful flow. I notices one mistake though.
    “an untouched aria”
    The spelling is “area”, not “aria”.
    I hope you don’t mind. But it is a pleasure to see such a well worded poem.
    Madhumakhi

  31. booguloo / Dec 14 2010 7:13 am

    You’re quite the romantic.

Leave a Reply

