Skip to content
December 29, 2010 / Gio

New York Shadorma

Soho gal
Carries warm baguette;
She’s wearing
Pancake smiles
After a lingering brunch
With her new lover.

Every day,
Midtown electricity…
Making noise,
Building things;
Monkeys on amphetamines,
Targets on their backs.

Street Hustler,
Talking through his hat;
The malarkey
Hits pavement
Like feet, tap dancing Monty
Three card and flim-flam.

Night-crawling
With glitterati
And hip-hop…
Thump, thump thump!
Sweating on rhyme-infused stage,
Rainbow-lit side street.

West Village
Penthouse loft party;
Hedge-funders
Rub elbows,
Eat catered tea sandwiches…
Champagne corner view.

Ducks: a safe,
A team on water,
Family.
Sunny Day…
Pedal boats and a skyline,
The world in a scene.

© Giovanni Cucullo

~

Shadorma
is a Spanish 6-line syllabic poem of 3/5/3/3/7/5 syllable lines respectively.

~

Visit
One Shot Poetry

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Steve Isaak / Jan 6 2011 4:55 am

    Great urban feel to this (and imagery, great flow. Excellent.

  2. hollyheir / Jan 2 2011 12:38 pm

    Oh you guys with your “new to me” forms. When will I ever get over to Luke’s? The holiday season with all its newness and neediness is keeping me tied up.

    I LOVED this. It was a trip back to the city..(along with London, I think of it as my personal city) and I saw it all, felt it with every visually packed and meaning compressed word. Beautiful and thanks for the form. Maybe I’ll try one today. Thank you for being so kind to always come and read at my place. I appreciate it so much. Many thanks, Gay @beachanny

  3. Bodhirose / Dec 31 2010 2:09 pm

    What a wonderful little tour through New York. I could really sense the different snippets of activity going on–well done. Thank you.

  4. Rene Foran / Dec 31 2010 11:19 am

    I love how this whisks our senses around the city..and “pancake smiles?”, that’s just money 🙂

  5. liv2write2day / Dec 30 2010 2:03 pm

    My only trips to the city have been for business. Today, I felt like I was immersed in the atmosphere. Fun! Happy New Year, Gio.

    My one shot: http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/12/29/song-of-songs-one-shot-wednesday/

  6. hedgewitch / Dec 30 2010 12:22 pm

    Love the way you’ve created a cascade of shadormas here, each with its own stand-alone vignette, building to a panaorama. I hate big cities, and there are fewer bigger than NYC, but you made me see something quite cool there. Great one shot.

  7. brian / Dec 29 2010 11:18 pm

    you cover quite the range of scenes in you poems…glad you end it rather serene…

  8. dustus / Dec 29 2010 6:07 pm

    Gio, you’ve this Kerouac-vibe-cadence to your lines that reminds me of upbeat bop through the literal experimentation with meaning and sound. Excellent write!

  9. Claudia / Dec 29 2010 3:00 pm

    very nice gio – i have just written a shadorma recently – and think it’s not an easy form to write – and you pack six of them into this poem and it’s just fantastic

Leave a Reply

