Skip to content
January 25, 2011 / Gio

My Angel Sleeps

Today

I sniff her pillow

Lipstick morning

Mirror message makes me smile

I remember last night

Watching her

She floated off into an angel’s sleep

Her hand still squeezing mine

As I quietly counted

Her Spanish freckles, resting

Like boy scouts

In a newly discovered copse

Her slow even breath

A gentle sea echo

Moon-driven ebb and flow

Whispering my reflection

And granting me a mouthful of sweet air.

~

© Giovanni Cucullo 2011

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. 700miles / Jan 30 2011 11:06 pm

    good good stuff Gio…. long time…. it’s good to peruse your genius…. take care!

  2. hedgewitch / Jan 26 2011 11:01 pm

    Intimate and tender love poem with a very graceful and idyllic feel. Loved it.

  3. zouxzoux / Jan 25 2011 7:13 pm

    This is so wonderful. What a lucky lady she is!

  4. Rene Foran / Jan 25 2011 5:21 pm

    I want to make a pillow out of this poem.
    Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

