Skip to content
March 7, 2011 / Gio

Diving Upward…

 

sometimes…
my heart feels contaminated, emaciated
embossed, stamped, imprinted
like initials in cement
the permanent damage
from years of pounding
a happy heart
and bruising a soul

my less traveled road, carved and cut
winding and blinding
snaking its way
through swollen earth
my path leaves a sparkling trail
yet marks me
with wonderful war wounds
incendiary bumbo jumbo

life rains mistakes
and thunderous resolutions
virus-infused storms
followed by
antibiotics and embraces
panacea love potion

I know me
I know better
I know me better
my strength allows me to
climb higher, walk further, dive deeper
into myself, into the horizon
exposing myself
exposing sunshine

through pain, palpitations and pressure
through a smog of regrets
blanketed by a bittersweet symphony
my mind recognizes a prince
acknowledges a wounded warrior
respects a man of fortitude
righteous to the core
with a dancing spirit
with arms wide open
giving thanks to the world

~

© Giovanni Cucullo

~

This will be my last post for a short while…I’ll be back in a flash!
Love you all!!

Gio

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tammy McLeod / Apr 24 2011 10:27 am

    This is a lovely poem Gio. Enjoy your time away.

  2. Tess Kincaid / Mar 7 2011 3:37 pm

    Life does often rain mistakes, doesn’t it?

  3. Neva Flores / Mar 7 2011 11:52 am

    A beautiful piece!

  4. Rene Foran / Mar 7 2011 7:49 am

    Bravo, Gio!
    Above all else
    Know thyself 🙂

  5. Bird / Mar 7 2011 6:46 am

    My Dearest Jappolla It’s a Monday morning in the N.E. A perfect Monday! All that is ever said of Monday makes this so.Raining, gloomy, 32F light freezing rain and I’m off to drive in an hour. For me just another day. Is there really any day that is the same as another? I hope not because I’ve experienced that already. That’s right! I divorced my first Wife! I equate it with being in prison though I’ve only done a few overnites in The Clink! Deprived of liberty,regimented to a fault-INCARCERATED! The result? Chip on shoulder, weight loss, will of carbon fiber and a rebirth. Nine years or so it took to forge the me that I Am(lets not get into him). After shaking a lot of baggage off the result left me with mixed feelings on the whole experience. My final(big word) analysis is one of GRATITUDE! That kind of therapy ain’t cheap! What’s the point here? Use your TIME well. You’ll be partying soon enough-Wiping your brow. See you on the other side. Has this been cryptic enough? Love Ya Bird

Leave a Reply

